- Drinks

Is Wine Gluten-Free?

Most wine, you will find, is by its very nature gluten-free, and completely safe to consume on a gluten-free diet. However, in order to dive deeply into the answer of whether the wine is gluten-free, then we must look at the processes of making wine.

Red, white and other varieties of wine are created with grapes. These fruits are naturally gluten-free. The fermentation process also does not contain any gluten.

Wine online in moderation is fine for the majority of people, however like all things, it is your responsibility as to what kinds of wine you consume and how much of it.

The Fining Process

After the fermentation process, another process takes place called fining. It is here that other substances are added to the wine, and this is the section of the process that you would have to watch out for. Winemakers could potentially add gluten contaminants into the bottle. Fining agents bind with unwanted particles and other debris in wines. These can be filtered away so that the wine appears clear.

If a winemaker uses gluten or another product containing gluten as a fining agent, then it’s entirely possible that the gluten could remain in the bottle – so bad news for gluten-free folks.

Studies suggest, that even if there is gluten in the bottle following on from the fining process, this is set to be much lower than the 20parts per million (or ppm) which is the maximum amount of gluten than a product can be allied to be labelled a gluten-free one This is based on guidelines which are set by the FDA in the US.

Oak Barrels with Wheat

There has additionally been some discussion about wine ageing in oak barrels which are then sealed with wheat paste, and if this contaminates the wine. However, studies show that the amount of gluten that is found in wines that use this process is below the threshold of 20ppm, with measurements from only 5-10ppm.

Therefore, it can be concluded that even wines made with wheat paste sealed barrels are still considered gluten-free.

If you have celiac’s disease or a form of gluten sensitivity then you should always be checking the wine’s ingredients label.

If in doubt, get in touch

You could also contact wine-makers and sellers directly to have comprehensive and detailed information about wine products. There are a myriad of places where you can buy wine online that should give you some advice and guidance on what is okay and not okay to indulge in if you suffer from these kinds of allergies and conditions.

Another reason that wine doesn’t agree with you could be the fact that your wine contains sulphites. Some people are more sensitive to this than others are, as such you wouldn’t be going wrong if you made sure that you were getting organic wine and sulphite free wine which should minimise risk and exposure to this.

Best of luck on your wine hunting journey, remember that if you are in doubt, just ask an expert and you are sure to get the advice and assistance you need.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *